top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureApryl James

GIANT SLAYER

Updated: Sep 6, 2018


 

Standing at 156cm, equivalent to barely 5ft, lol, is me –Apryl. I think many things seem to look like “Giants” to me. I’ve often found myself taking an “ant” perspective of my world around me. But if I really study the life of ants, I would notice that they don’t seem to be bothered by their size at all. In fact their size has proven to work for them; they fit into cracks and crevices that larger insects are unable to. They most definitely understand that they are stronger together and use team work to their advantage to hunt, attack and build.

I know you did not come here to hear about Ants, I got you right now….. Here is the point!

GIANTS- we all have them whether we realize it or not

So let me explain …. In Numbers 13:27, Moses sent some spies to go survey the land; they brought back the following report. “We went into the land to which you sent us, and it does flow with milk and honey!” But the people who live there are powerful, and the cities fortified and very large.

Point #1- The “promise land” ,they saw it , whether you received a prophecy, saw a vision or God told you that he has something great for you (promises in the bible)- that’s your promise!!

Giants usually come to stand between the promises of God for your life, almost in opposition!! I can relate, guess what--- God told me Apryl you will be rich, I believe his word,but my situation right now definitely looks like those fortified cities because your girls bank account clearly did not get that revelation…..but it was a promise right!!

The spies continued to share what they saw “All those people we saw there are of great size, we seemed like grasshoppers in our own eyes and we looked the same to them”

Obviously they had already written of themselves from going into the promise land because of what they saw with their natural eyes.

Listen …this thing is gonna preach…keep reading!

I am forced to remember another group of people that were faced with a Giant, that’s right the Israelites.

1 Samuel 17, gives us this account of Goliath and “for forty days the Philistine came forward every morning and evening and took his stand”, whenever the Israelites saw the man, they all fled from him in great fear."

But sombody say there is a David….. We all have a “David” in us that wants to lay hold of the promises of God and is not alarmed by what we see!

David said “Who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God”


You see David had perspective, he recognized that this man was not coming up against them, but in fact he was coming up against God ,and he had the faith to know that you don’t mess with the people of God. He reminds me of another great man of faith that also understood this. The great prophet Elisha, 2kings 6:16… a great army was coming up against him sent by the King of Aram. When the servant of the lord who was with Elisha saw the horses and chariots that had surrounded the city he cried out “Oh no, lord! What should we do? Elisha said “do not be afraid, those who are with us are more than those who are against us. Elisha prayed OPEN HIS EYES THAT HE MAY SEE!

When the servant’s eyes were open he saw a heavenly army surrounding him, ready to fight on his behalf! Like can you imagine….. heaven is ready to fight for you if you step out in faith.

I AM ALREADY SHOUTING!!!.


Let me break this down


The things that we see cause us to fear- big giants, fortified cities ,armie

.

Bank Account

Family Problems

Bills

Doctors Report

Sickness in our body

No Jobs

No “Promise” and No way to get to it


The things that we hear also causes us to fear- loud giants, threats, devil whispers


Low self-esteem

Anxiety

Rejection from peers, family, significant otherr

Failure

Comparison

Rejection from peers, family,significant other


All of these things are GIANTS because they hinder us from getting to the promises of God.

There are two choices here, one you can be a David and cut of the head of the giant

Or two ,you can be like the spies and walk in unbelief ,fear and insecurities and spend forty years going around in a circle because you don’t think you can go beyond what you see or hear currently.

Point #2 Your Promise will be accomplished based on your decision…. The land was already there, flowing with milk and honey, will you lay hold of it? or will you run away from it?

Stories of Nations- (my personal story) When God told me to move to America from Trinidad and Tobago, it was during one of the most successful years of my life….ever! I mean I was working in a great job, had a great,stable relationship, I was sooo comfortable and pretty happy. I was excited but also very nervous about the move but I was like okay it can only get better right?.... wrong!!!My move here was totally by faith and continued to be a total faith walk.Sometimes to lay hold of your promise ,you have to get out of the comfortable and trust God like you never had to before. My move resulted in me having No job,No relationship,no friends around me and no MORE comfort zone. That was my reality and to some extent still is ,but I had a promise,just like Abraham…that I have to reach nations. I was but God here I am struggling to just make it in a city. I chose to never let go of the promises of God and I have seen him work things out. I am currently in between jobs and nothing could be scarier than knowing will I HAVE A job tom. But I have to remember his promises!! He takes care of the birds of the field, who am I? ….. He keeps making ways in the actual wilderness because I choose over and over and over, with tears in my eyes most times to hold onto his promises. Is slaying Giants hard!!! HELL YES, But is my God bigger …OHHH YESS!. And guess what I have more faith now that I ever had before ...soo it all starts with killing one negative thought after the other and replacing them with the word of God.



Takeaway- I DON’T know what the Giants in your life are! But friend, they will continue to haunt you until you make a conscious decision to cut off their head with your faith and say no more!!!. God has given me a promise and I will not keep myself back from walking into that promise no matter what it takes. If you have no idea what God has promise you, I will share with you my favourite one. Jeremiah 29:11 “11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”. I hope that gave you some confidence to go and slay some giants because that my friend is an awesome promise right there!


PRAYER:- Dear Lord when the Giants in my life begin to overwhelm me with fear, help me to trust you. Give me faith to know that I can cut off the head off every Giant and lay hold of your promises for me, I trust you more today. Amen


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page