top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureApryl James

'LET THE HEALING BEGIN'

Hey Fam!Welcome Back

Have certain songs from your childhood ever got stuck in your brain commemorating a certain event or place?

One such song is"Let the Healing Begin" posted below!!!!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pB-3Mdpf5vg




This song reminded me that I was usually on my way home early from school. It was so special because I would be dropped off by my aunt and she would usually have gospel music blasting loudly. Back then, Isaac 98.1fm the PROMISE (a gospel radio station in Trinidad and Tobago) was very new on the scene, and they talked a lot. There was this one lady that always seemed so happy and bursting with joy. I eventually learnt that her name was sister Margaret Elcock, who became very influential to me and my love for gospel music. Every time school ended early, I could remember hearing this woman’s voice and she would play that song every single time. It became a ritual for me, like everything was just A-Okay in the world. This song, even as a child, always made me feel happy, almost like I could sense the God I learnt about in Sunday School and the angels they said resided with him. I could picture them just swaying with the coconut trees on one of our hot island sunny days.

‘I was a weird child’……lol,I am aware. I never knew what the song meant in no way shape or form ...I guess i was just a very 'deep' child ...lol

UN-KNOWN TO ME, GOD WAS SINGING OVER ME FROM A CHILD. HE IS THAT KIND OF INTENTIONAL !!

Just like he was healing me as a child ,even before I could have spelt the word, I believe that this same God wants and desires to heal every person that takes the time to read this blog. From things known and unknown.

What God has been teaching me over the course of the last six months, are the levels of SURRENDER.

Many of us try to serve him with our all,,but never SURRENDER to him the things that caused us pain. We may have forgiven the person, we may have forgotten the situation, we may have surpressed it sooooo far back that you ALMOST convinced yourself that whatever happened to you did not happened.


IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE SOMETHING DRASTIC! BUT PAST HURTS CAN SERVE AS HINDERANCES!

WHATEVER YOUR STORY SOUNDS LIKE. IDENTIFY IT


I could guarantee you one thing-----GOD WATS TO HEAL YOU COMPLETELY FROM THAT.

I could almost hear you say….NAH FAM,IM NOT READY!

Usually I will bargain with you and say yeah maybe you are not ….but what if GOD is ready for you to give it to him.

You may be saying,that 'THING' will cause you to much pain ,or that its too hard TO BRING UP AGAIN !

I think you holding on to it ,is actually causing more pain and damage.

I know at this point you are ready to sign out or shout to me ….YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND!!!

You are 100% right,I don’t but I know someone who does…..just like God was singing “healing”over me as a child. I actually needed physical healing…I was so sickly and would spend many nights rushed to the hospital due to bad asthma attacks. I also needed emotional healing…from childhood trauma.

I could promise you as a child,I am pretty sure I did not know what the words of the song meant…but I knew it made me happy. Now I can say God was beginning the healing work…and as an adult he completed his work in me.

I AM ASTHMA FREE COMPLETELY! I HAVE 100% EMOTIONAL HEALING FROM PAST TRAUMA.
I have experience this "first class" healing myself...instantly in the case of my asthma and gradually in the case of my trauma
Phillipians 1:6 "Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus."

For God to begin this healing …it takes some form of surrender….

Little did I know I was surrendering ,everytime I raised my hands up in the air as a kid and swayed to the melody of this song. I believed it brought this Great God ,this healing God…into my tiny body to begin the amazing job he had intentions of seeing completed!

SO I AM SPEAKING FROM EXPERIENCE….that the tiniest bit of SURRENDER,can help you find that peace ,joy freedom that your heart needs.

QUICK FACT- 10/10 times,when I do counseling with adults, you know what every one goes back to-----an experience they had in their childhood (both good and bad). Hence ,when I work with children,I ensure that I am giving them my best care as their therapist. I firmly believe that


“Its easier to build strong children than repair broken adults”.

But where Psychology and Doctor’s office fall short…..we have a GREAT FIXER UPPER! He specialized in repairing broken adults and completing the work that he was doing even before we were formed in our parents womb.

New International Version
Jeremiah 1:5 "Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations."
SOMEBODY BETTER SHOUT!!!!

So this is not a challenge! This my friend is an act of your will and total faith.

All I can do is be your biggest cheerleader and share my own story and hope you feel less alone.

That today ,tomorrow or before the year is finished ,that you will take one small step to getting that emotional, mental, mind ,body healing that you so desperately need.


HOW DO YOU START? I AM SO GLAD YOU ASKED.


With the help of the HolySpirit is a few things you can do

1. In your prayer time….confess it to God …say it loud- Revelation 12:11 They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.

“It could be as simple as God I give you the worst experience of my life……”


2. Some things may require you to FORGIVE. This may not be in person but ,from your heart …keep asking God to get you to a place where you are able to forgive completely.

Matthew 6:14-15 NIV For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.


3. Walk in Freedom from that 'thing'-

John 8:36 "So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed."
To end today, here is a short poem written by yours truly,to help you on this journey of TOTAL and COMPLETE healing and restoration,in Jesus Name.

This one is for every heart,mind,body or soul that needs a touch from the one I call RAPHA

To every little boy or girl that got lost along the way

Healing has come to your house today , In spite what you may be unable to say

Every tear that has ever fallen, he has stored them in his jars of love

Already trading your tears for joy and his peace is descending like a dove

Leave every broken part of you before him today and watch him restore you

Inspire of how much you have blamed yourself , he is here to convince you ,that he is judge and jury too

Nails pierced in his hands,every drop of blood ,has paid the price for every sin ,habit and pain

Guess what ,he even mentioned your name, so that his healing and freedom you can gain

Only thing hindering him now is you just opening your hands and giving it all to him in surrender

It's his desire to throw it as far as the sea of forgetfulness ,For he is the ultimate mender

LOVE has come to your house today, a love that won't hurt you ever, for this one I call Rapha has touched you and made you all BETTER!


WALK .IN.YOUR.FREEDOM.


Love Always,

A


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page