top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureApryl James

'Road less Travelled'

Updated: Sep 6, 2018


Hey fam, Welcome, I am really trying to make this one a fun one :)


We have had some heavy blogs, so this one is a bit of a switch up ,as we will be doing a challenge and question session. You know, in honor of back to school week or whatever,lol.

Before we jump into that! Shout out to all my consistent readers, yall are making this God birthed dream a reality and we are hitting nations!!! I have seen three different nations logged on so far and I believe that this is only the beginning.

OK FAM, LETS JUMP IN THIS CHALLENGE! You will need a pen, paper,and your bible,I use my phone…but for the holy rollers,I know you already had that big bible sitting there ready to speak in tongues…lol,amen. If you are not a Christian, I got you right now… you my friend just grab a pen,paper and you may need google.

So as the topic says ‘ROAD LESS TRAVELED’…. This idea will really help us all to solidify why we do what we do…or why we should either stop or start doing a few things.

TWO RULES…only two ,it’s easy..

1. This requires total honesty! As you can tell I really try to keep it 100 and I believe as we continue on this journey, you should be honest as well…at least with yourself.

2. Try Sharing your answers, either in the comments or with someone that you know could benefit from your truth. Yes, I am teaching you to be vulnerable, it never easy but definitely, necessary.


OKAY…..READY! LETS GO

So one of the most common misconceptions is that being a Christian is boring, you cant be your “real” self in the church and ofcourse Christians don’t have problems. All the non Christians are shaking their head in agreement right here lol. All questions will be designed around this belief ,to allow you to challenge yourself as to why you do what you do in the first place.


IT'S NOT A TEST! IT'S JUST YOUR TRUTH

So answer as honestly as possible….


1. On your worst day…either you are feeling depressed,anxious,just did something that you told yourself you would not do for the 800th time or things are just not going your way. WHAT IS YOUR FIRST RESPONSE ? (Reminder,BE HONEST)


2. I often do _______________________ to convince myself that I am not missing out on life, even when I feel like other people have reached and accomplished more than I have.


3. I sometimes wish _________________________ was not considered a “sin”. Then maybe I could be my “real” authentic self. Instead I am stuck fighting feelings of __________________ by doing ________________.


4. There are many things that people do not know about me because if they do ,my world will change forever, at least their perception of me. TRUE/FALSE


5. I have one person in my life I genuinely trust with my darkest/deepest secrets. TRUE/FALSE


6. If I died today, I am sure that I am going to heaven. Yes/No


7. I believe that I could ______________ and still serve God ,even tho ,I know in the bible it says it is wrong. I justify my answer by saying ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


8. If serving God requires me to let go of some very close people to me ,I would do it immediately?_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

9. There is one thing in my life that I can’t seem to forgive myself or someone for . No matter what I can’t seem to let go of these feelings . True /False


10. I often feel like I have many questions even as a Christian or Non Christian that I don’t seem to be getting answers to ? true /false , these questions are _____________________________________________________________________


11. I know that my fulfillment (happinesss,joy,peace) is suppose to come from God ,but I don’t feel fulfilled? True /false. I believe this is because______________________________________________________________


Look at you being honest! Give yourself a pat on the back and breathe a sigh of relief. If you couldn’t relate to some questions,no worries keep it moving…. If you had trouble answering these questions, ask yourself why? …..if you at least tried…I commend you.


 

BEING A CHRISTIAN, A REAL ONE ----IS ACTUALLY KNOWN AS THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED!

Matthew 7:13-14 English Standard Version (ESV
“Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

So this is not a long blog ,but just to help you understand why what you just did is even important in the first place. You have already hopefully,read some of my story and you saw that I had some serious choices that I NEEDED to make.

The reality is this….. to live in ALL of the promises that God has for you and to actually find true fulfillment in the things of God. It requires a lot of SACRIFICES and DENYING yourself.

Now some church folks..I like to call them the super saints..believe that serving Jesus must look a particular way …long skirts,no earrings,no cinemas, etcetc… . I really do believe that it all comes down to relationship with Jesus Christ.

No two relationships on earth look the same…. They may do similar things ,but as a Marriage and Family Therapist you learn how complex couples are. They may have similar issues, but the way in which I work with them is totally unique based on the couple.

Consider your relationship with Jesus that way. If you don’t know him….just stick around and I could assure you,you would learn.
Your relationship with Jesus is your own. When you are in right relationship ,meaning like you and Jesus talk everyday, you listen to him,you read his word because you know ,you want to find out more….Similar to how you may stalk your crushes Instagram (I'm guilty). Like you want to understand what they like…who their crew is,what they are about.

This is how the things that you answered in your question segment actually get answered. Getting Vulnerable ,sharing your truth even openly with yourself and just admitting where you are falling short. If you find yourself feeling bored with your Christian walk…you have simply stopped seeking…stopped chasing, you have lost those "butterflies" that kept you motivated to pursue and the heart to understand that he actually has more for you.

Anyone in a relationship knows that it is hard work… we like saying "couple goals" etc but yo!!!…..it takes work to make any relationship successful. GOD NEVER STOPS CHASING US DOWN,WE ACTUALLY STOP SEEKING HIM .

Bad things happen in life…..yes ……we may get angry with God yes….. but …friend!! Can u agree with me that when things really were bad it was because we were not in right relationship with the father.

And yes things may have happened which was totally not your fault...but in some form ,it did affect the way we viewed God ,either as protector,provider,healer. It makes you question ,does serving God even make sense?


IF YOU HAVE NEVER ASKED THAT! AMEN FOR YOU BUT FOR THE ONES THAT DID ...The bible teaches us about the many men and women that laid their lives down-----to death to serve this God. Because they BELIEVED that serving him was worth it all,including their life.

That love for God that drives you to not grow weary ,while doing good ,that love that makes us stop hanging with people that we know will hinder our walk with the one we claim to love.


Acts 20:24 New Living Translation (NLT)
But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.
SO HERE IS THE ULTIMATE CHALLENGE

Choose one thing you know that may be hindering your walk with God . If it is your desire to serve him more...hopefully ....or you simply just want more from your life....PEACE,JOY,HAPPINESS,LOVE.


If I told you that anything you are standing in need of can be yours by dedicating some time this week and doing whatever you think you need to do to help your relationship grow........WHAT WOULD YOU DO?
Let me give some suggestions
=lESS TIME ON SOCIAL MEDIA ,AN EXTRA MIN TO JUST ASK GOD ...WHY DID YOU CREATE ME?
I CHALLENGE YOU TO WALK THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED AND IT ALL STARTS WITH A DECISION
LET ME KNOW WHAT YOURS WILL BE!
MY CHOICE
I CHOOSE TO TAKE AN ENTIRE DAY AWAY FROM SOCIAL MEDIA AND FRIENDS.....JUST TO HEAR FROM GOD.
LETS GO HIGHER,LETS GO DEEPER,LETS TRAVEL THE ROAD LESS TRAVELLED.
LETS PRAY
I pray that I am healed from the inside out,may the former things no longer have a hold on me and may God give me the desire to pursue him and seek his face in the midst of everything I am facing. I choose to travel the road less travelled.
In Jesus name I pray ,Amen
LOVE ALWAYS ,
A








30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page